XTC Incense

On Friday, I let my hair down (so to speak) and had a grand old time in my room grooving out to classic vocal trance, a bottle or two of wine, and a fuckton of incense.  I ended up burning enough to make my room pretty dense with smoke, enough to set off a smoke detector, that’s for sure, but that was because I ended up adding more things to burn in the brazier.  The end result was fantastic; in fact, I was pretty blissed out and hypersensitive to any number of things.

Because it was so awesome, and because I want to remember what I put in it and share the recipe for you, I give you XTC (Expetibilis Thymiana Cythereae) incense.  The recipe for the incense was kinda complicated, and it ended up becoming something like a Venusian kyphi.  I ended up blending the scents by burning them separately, some with sticks and some with loose powders, but here’s a good approximation of what a complete recipe would be:

  • two parts rose
  • one part musk
  • one part gardenia
  • one part patchouli
  • one part jasmine
  • one part lavender
  • one part orris root
  • one part sandalwood, splintered or powdered
  • one part dragon’s blood resin, finely crushed
  • one part benzoin
  • one half part calamus
  • one half part cinnamon bark, splintered or powdered
  • a few drops kava kava extract

You could probably mix it all up and make pellets by soaking some figs or dark raisins in some rosé wine or champagne with a bit of honey, then blending it all with the above and burning on a charcoal.

About polyphanes
I'm a software developer and Hermetic occultist living near Washington, DC, USA. I claim that I'm youthful, dashing, daring, and other things. I make things and chant stuff, and periodically write about them.

3 Responses to XTC Incense

  1. Andrew says:

    Sounds good! I’ve been experimenting too, not with making my own incenses but making my own oils and tinctures. I’m planning to make the planetary spagyrics, and then maybe making a set of lamens (on your design) where the lamens are initially soaked in the tinctures of the planets. Anyway, keep up the crafty work!

  2. polyphanes says:

    Also, I suppose another name for this could be MDMA Incense (Mel Dulcis Magnae Aphrodites). So many options, so little time~

Leave a Note

